RIP Feedjit?

I don’t know if I’m jumping the gun here, but it looks like Feedjit – the real time tracking widget that monitors visitors to your website – has pegged it. It’s been down for over a week now. The tracking on my site hasn’t worked for days and it’s not just me experiencing the problem. I completed a contact form to let them know – but I found info elsewhere to say they never reply and I haven’t heard a dicky bird. On Twitter they haven’t tweeted since 2014 and on Facebook they haven’t posted since 2013, so what’s going on?

Rather annoyingly, if you click on their page, their widget is working!

I’ve lost patience, so I’ve been on the lookout for an alternative. The problem is WordPress, the platform I use for my website and blog, can’t support widgets that use Javascript and the widget has to be embedded as text.

Tried the following that looked OK on the face of it:

Who’s Among Us? doesn’t work, all I get is the script showing as text

RadarURL has a non-javascript embedded link for WordPress and other blogs and again it doesn’t work; again only the script displays on the page.

There are others to choose from that people might like and that might work for them: AliveStats, Footprint Live, Clicky…most are free, but some are subscription, most use Javascript, some you have to download, some are just too fussy to look at and if all you want is to display something simple on your menu bar they’re no good. I want something similar to Feedjit and simple to use and does the same job as – well, Feedjit!

I might have found it: Flag Counter.

It’s free (but there is a pro version for $29.99 per year – about £21 in real money) and it’s basically a counter, but it shows the number of visitors from different countries who have visited your site. Every time someone clicks, up pops the number against the country’s flag. You can click on the flag for a more detailed overview and you also get the geographical location of the country and its history! It’s easy to set up and it’s worth registering your counter so you can log in to your management section. There you can ignore your own browser when you visit your own site (that used to work with Feedjit…) and set things up the way you want them. At the moment, I’m using the free version, but the pro has additional features like regional visitor statistics as well as national (though this is standard for visitors from US and Canada).

The other problem with Feedjit was it kept telling me someone from the UK had landed on an ‘unknown landing page’, something to do with its non-javascript version. The thing with File Counter is to get the best out of it you need to create a code for every page of your site, which will take some time, so for now I’ve got one code for my site and one code for my blog just to monitor the counts. It doesn’t matter which page people are looking at, as long as they look!

Tagged: , , ,

9 thoughts on “RIP Feedjit?

  1. joshw24 April 22, 2016 at 4:09 pm Reply

    My Feedjit has been down for about 2 weeks now. I’ve tried deleting it and uninstalling it, but every visitor’s location is given as San Francisco. Filled out a contact form on their website and it went to an error page. Feedjit and I had a good run, but I think it might be done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tracey Morait April 22, 2016 at 5:21 pm Reply

      Could be they’ve packed up and moved on, Josh. It’s irritating because they seem to have the monopoly on the live traffic feed. Flag Counter isn’t bad at all, though. Give it a go. You have to start from scratch, but you’ll soon build up your visitors and the flags look cool 🙂

      Like

  2. My Feedjit died to “San Francisco” several weeks ago. Thought at first it was because I was vacationing in Turks and Caicos. I am using the Flag Counter on two of my blogs now. My third blog still has Feedjit on it. Hoping that it may someday activate. Dream on ? I preferred to know the cities/towns viewers were coming from. If I find a site that is comparable to Feedjit I would almost certainly try it.

    Like

    • Tracey Morait May 5, 2016 at 5:32 pm Reply

      I quite like the Flag Counter, it makes the page look colourful. 🙂 If you do find an alternative though let me know 🙂

      Like

  3. true_north May 16, 2016 at 7:20 pm Reply

    Tracy, thanks for the post. You’ve not only pinpointed the problem I was having but also the solution.

    I also started using flag Counter in late April. Given that there is a cumulative WordPress generated total which is visible on my home page, I’ve decided to restart the Flag Counter each month.

    Like

  4. J.L. Pattison July 6, 2016 at 6:39 pm Reply

    I am so glad I found this blog post. My Feedjit began defaulting back in April to San Francisco as well. However, what made it so perplexing to me was that I had been in San Francisco when this happened (so you can all blame me). I thought something happened that caused it to permanently lock me and all visitors to my blog into SF. Now that I see it’s not just me, I feel a little better. I just installed Flag Counter (on your recommendation) and it works (although I prefer to see cities listed on the page not just countries).

    Thanks for this blog post.

    Like

    • Tracey Morait July 6, 2016 at 6:44 pm Reply

      Hi JJ

      Thanks for your comment. It’s a shame and Flag Counter isn’t ideal, but it’s colourful! I’m still looking for a traffic widget that will work with WordPress that’s similar to Feedjit. With Flag Counter the cities will display for US and Canada, but only for other countries with the premium version, but who wants to pay for it!

      Like

  5. J.L. Pattison July 6, 2016 at 6:48 pm Reply

    When I click on the flag it gives me more details (state, not city) but I guess that’s better than what Feedjit is doing right now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Tracey Morait July 6, 2016 at 6:55 pm Reply

    Ah, well, with me being the wrong side of the pond I wouldn’t know the difference! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

MovieBabble

The Casual Way to Discuss Movies

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

A CERTAIN MEASURE OF PERFECTION

A novel inspired by Roger Brierley (1586 - 1637)

Lloyd S.R.

“They say a picture is worth a thousand words. But a thousand words can be worth a thousand pictures” — Lloyd S.R

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

Our Movie Life

Anything about everything movie & TV related.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

This Southern Blog

A whimsical journey

Commercial Society

Sometimes commercials are the best part of TV.

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

nicholasjparr

to be confirmed

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

kindlykickingback

A muse, mic and masquerade of anthropological typing.

Barnaby Taylor - Author

5 ★★★★★ Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

On The Heath

where would-be writer works with words

sophiesbestbooks

Sophie, age 11, book reviewer

Julayn Adams

Books and Reviews

alltheeabove

A home for legit sites and recommendations

Kate Beth Heywood

Author of the savagely funny debut novel, Anti-Social Media

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Vivian Copeland's Best Books Of All Time

Highlighting great books to share the love of reading.

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

chasing23.org/blog/

An Entrepreneur's Mastermind

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

William the butler

Serving drinks since 1985

Holy Moly Cashback

Shopping has never been this much fun

