Something For Nothing and The Books For Free

Ah. Isn’t it a great feeling to see your eBook at number 1 in the hit parade? This is the current free sales rank for Goalden Sky on Amazon.com

(It’s football, not soccer).

As I write, it’s also doing well on Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.ca, Amazon.de and Amazon.jp.

And how did it achieve these dizzy heights? It’s because I discovered something very recently by accident: you can give your Kindle books away FREE to all readers, as a promotion for a limited time. Goalden Sky is in the KDP Select programme, which allows free copy sales for Prime customers, and now also gives the option of free copy promotion to everyone and anyone with a Kindle, worldwide. We’ve just had Easter, so I thought, why not, let’s have a free Easter giveaway of Goalden Sky and see how many people want to download it. I advertised it on Twitter and Facebook and it’s taken off really well! The promotion ends today and I’ve sold over 30 copies since 5th April! Great! I’ve done the same for Big Brother until 12th April because a kind reader wants to review the Kindle edition, but in the UK we still can’t gift Kindle copies as far as I know, so the reviewer can download it free within that time (which I hope she has).

I wish I could do the same for my paperbacks, but I can’t, and it’s got me thinking: with some of my paperbacks going for silly money on Amazon and other sites, why aren’t they selling just as well? Epiworld is currently selling for buttons on Amazon.com for $2.23 (whatever that is in pounds, shillings and pence), is £1.46 on Amazon.co.uk and Abbie’s Rival is dirt cheap as well; so I’ve told everyone. Yet what’s the difference? It’s probably because of this: postage. Also they have to wait for the paperback to drop on the mat. It’s always instant with an eBook.

Do readers really prefer the eBook, or do they just want diddly for squat? I think the latter. My Kindle editions are cheap anyway, between £0.99 and £1.99, and that’s buttons, but they didn’t do this well when readers had to pay for them! The downloads have gone crazy since the two books went free, even for Big Brother: the current sales rank on Amazon.com is like this:

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #7,949 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
#15  in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Children’s eBooks > Science Fiction, Fantasy & Scary Stories > Scary Stories

Actually, that worries me. Why is it in children’s eBooks scary stories section?! It says quite clearly at the top of the book description it’s suitable only for 12-16 years of age, so now I’m bracing myself from a torrent of abuse from annoyed readers! 😱

Amazon.co.uk puts it into the horror section, which is kind of correct.

It kind of knocks out the popular theory that if an indie author prices their books too low they’re telling readers their books aren’t worth jack, doesn’t it?

It’s a pity Amazon and other stores don’t do a similar promotion for paperbacks. From what I can tell I can’t give away my paperbacks for a limited time through a store, only my Kindle books, unless I put it down as free as a third party seller, and even then Amazon will probably put a gun to my temple and make me charge postage! I’ll have to try a little experiment with that.

It’s a bit cynical to state that people want something for nothing, but I think it may be true of the free Kindle promotion. There’s nothing wrong with it and it’s more exposure for my books. I’m going to give away Epiworld, Abbie’s Rival and Goalden Girl on Kindle, too!

Only one fly in the ointment: I don’t get a bean in revenue! 😒

Meanwhile, say hello to my new cat, Treacle.

treacle

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

MovieBabble

The Casual Way to Discuss Movies

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

A CERTAIN MEASURE OF PERFECTION

A novel inspired by Roger Brierley (1586 - 1637)

Lloyd S.R.

“They say a picture is worth a thousand words. But a thousand words can be worth a thousand pictures” — Lloyd S.R

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

Our Movie Life

Anything about everything movie & TV related.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

This Southern Blog

A whimsical journey

Commercial Society

Sometimes commercials are the best part of TV.

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

nicholasjparr

to be confirmed

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

kindlykickingback

A muse, mic and masquerade of anthropological typing.

Barnaby Taylor - Author

5 ★★★★★ Fiction

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

On The Heath

where would-be writer works with words

sophiesbestbooks

Sophie, age 11, book reviewer

Julayn Adams

Books and Reviews

alltheeabove

A home for legit sites and recommendations

Kate Beth Heywood

Author of the savagely funny debut novel, Anti-Social Media

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Vivian Copeland's Best Books Of All Time

Highlighting great books to share the love of reading.

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

chasing23.org/blog/

An Entrepreneur's Mastermind

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

